Harrison County Sheltered Workshop Association was incorporated February 15, 1975 as non-profit corporation organized under the laws of the state of Missouri.  We are also recognized as a 501 (c) (3) educational charitable organization by the federal government.

Harrison County Sheltered Workshop Association operates under a certificate of authority from the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education as an extended employment sheltered workshop.

Harrison County Sheltered Workshop Association holds a certificate from the Federal Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division, which exempts us from paying minimum wage to workers with severe disabilities (section 14(c)).

Harrison County Sheltered Workshop Association is organized as a membership corporation. Dues are $5.00 per person per year.  Each member is entitled to one vote at all general membership meetings.  Generally, there is one membership meeting per year—the annual meeting—held the fourth Thursday of July.  The primary responsibility on the membership is to elect the fifteen-member board of directors.  Management of the organization is vested in this fifteen-member board.

The board of directors has, among its duties, the charge of hiring a manager to handle the day to day operations of the sheltered workshop.  Per the by-laws, the manager attends but has no vote at the meetings of the board of directors, and serves as secretary to the board.  Current workshop manager is Susan Legaard.

The board of directors for the 2014-2015 fiscal year is:

Mr. Jason Slaughter, President (2017)*
Mrs. Rhonda Price, 1st Vice-President (2015)
Mr. Jim Krueger, 2nd Vice-President (2015)
Mr. Mike Shields, Treasurer (2015)
Dr. Bruce McCall, Assistant Treasurer (2016)
Mrs. Amy Eastin (2017)
Mr. Casey Guernsey (2016)
Mr. Lowell Littrell (2017)
Mr. Tom McFall (2015)
Mrs. Debbie O’Neil (2015)
Mrs. Winona Parkhurst (2017)
Mrs. Sheila Robertson (2016)
Mr. Rand Slama (2016)

There is one vacancy on the board for a term that expires in 2017.